The Entertainer Award

Well, I’ll be damned – and not just because I’m evil, for once!  Here I’d figured that my newbie efforts at blogging were just the chaotic ramblings of my twisted psyche, but they have actually been nominated for the Entertainer Blogger Award!  I am quite honestly humbled and incredibly thankful to the kind and talented (and judging by this nomination, possibly insane) crew of Mages at The Well-Red Mage for thinking enough of my musings to nominate them.  I love your blog, and it is unreal to me to stand amongst such fantastic company!

The Rules of The Entertainer Blogger Award

  • Write a post including the award picture.
  • Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring, and most importantly ENTERTAINING!
  • Add these rules to the post.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog!
  • Answer the questions down below:

What do you hope to gain from blogging?

This may sound somewhat odd, but I hope to gain two things – to make myself whole again, and to connect with others.  This blog arose from my need to cope with a time of immense personal pain and loss in my life.  Aside from my immediate family and best friend, I felt very alone and adrift – and it was the online gaming community that helped me to reconnect with people.  Since then, I’ve channeled my pain into this effort, and I hope to be able to connect with those that may share some of my passions and interests.

What genre of film entertains you the most?

Fantasy and sci-fi – in my opinion, two sides of the same coin.  Have loved them ever since I was a tiny, non-esq. evil wizard.

Do you consider yourself a writer, and what inspires you to write?

I do consider myself a writer, on both a professional and personal level.  The inspirations vary between the two.  Professionally, as an attorney, the law and how it affects a case are my initial inspirations.  Those are what set the hook.  Once I’ve begun to pick away at an issue, however, it is easy to get caught up in arguing your side and convincing the judge that you’re interpretation is correct.

Personal writing for me is much nearer an dearer to my heart.  I feel less confident in it sometimes, as my inspirations are the things that I hold closest to me – friends and loved ones, hobbies and dreams, inspirations and losses.  It is difficult to write about such matters without wondering if you are truly doing them justice.  But sometimes it’s more about the journey than the destination.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

Hmm, while many things may present almost comical levels of annoyance to me (I mean, you’ve read the blog, right?) but the worst thing in life to me is betrayals of trust.  No matter how much you may like or dislike someone, or how those feelings may change, when someone has placed their trust in you, it leaves them vulnerable to you, and taking advantage of that is awful.

Why did you choose your particular WordPress or blog username?

Ah, well, I’ve been telling folks for as long as I can remember that I’m Evil – it just seemed like I should be up front with them, and it also conveniently sets expectations low.  Wizard hearkens to my tendency to prioritize brains over brawn, cleverness and quick wit over brute force – though when pressed I do relish a good physical contest!  And as for Esq., well, something had to differentiate me from the other so-called Evil Wizards out there, and being an actual attorney seemed like a good basis.  Hence, Evil Wizard, Esq.

My Nominations are:

  1. Charalanahzard
  2. Pockets Full of Soup
  3. Magini-Books
  4. Black Box
  5. Retro Mega-Bit
  6. I ❤ Old Games
  7. I Played the Game!
  8. That Videogame Blog
  9. Touch Arcade
  10. Kinda Funny
  11. The Gamer With Kids
  12. Game, Complain, Repeat

Again, I’m grateful to have entertained you, and I hope to continue to do so!

– EWE

12 thoughts on “The Entertainer Award”

  1. Haha that opening joke and your word count on this post! Now that’s attention to detail, sir. It’s been a pleasure interacting with you, even if we may be at separate wavelengths of the magical spectrum, it’s good to meet a fellow magician. Keep up the entertaining work and I do hope that you can continue to use your writing as a productive means of channeling yourself. Thanks for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Found this through the Well-Red Mage and was compelled to like and follow your blog by the power of evil. Seriously…I saw Black Mage from what I’m assuming is 8-Bit Theater and was like, “Hm, this fellow seems like someone I should possibly follow.” Then, “Ah he studied psychology. I studied psychology, and I use it to mess with the minds of mortal men mwa ha ha!”

    Truly seriously, congratulations on your award! The ability to entertain in a mere month of posts is nothing to sneeze at!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks for the kind words! Yes, BLM from 8-Bit Theater is my spirit animal. And it is good to know that someone else recognizes the true purpose of psychology!
      I actually never expected to entertain anyone, but it feels great to have done so!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anyone who has the idea of creating a woman entirely out of pie is someone I want on my team hehe. I never finished reading that comic, but what I did gave me weeks of entertainment. I should put finishing it on my bucket list.

        I studied psych and then English so I could also use the written word to manipulate as well.

        It is nice when you’re just doing what you’d be doing anyway and people appreciate the natural talent you just have 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on the award! I also discovered your malevolent blog through the mighty Mage’s post. I often find myself adrift in the world as well, and I find that blogging helps me connect with many inspiring people out there. My personal writing also helps me channel some of my own inner woes. Looking forward to reading more delightfully evil posts here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks! Yes, finding an outlet for all of those feelings is far healthier than trying to internalize them – and blogging, as far as I know, results in far fewer negative consequences than roasting feeble humans. 😈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

