#FrozenFoodFridays – Healthy Edition

I got new art!  Seriously, I saw this piece by Mari Lyn and knew I had to hang it in my place.  I’ve been proud to know her through the years – she is an amazing and talented woman. Check out her work and support her!

It’s time once again, folks, for another #FrozenFoodFridays!  Now, this may seem like a shorter, cop-out edition this week, but there is a decent payoff in return – you see, I’m trying my hand at an actual, not frozen, homemade cooking adventure!  I will hopefully be able to share the success (or hilariously dismal failure) of it soon – but even a homemade meal needs a frozen treat!  And so, I finally bring to you the backup dish I’ve been threatening since I started this segment…

Halleluja!

That’s right, it’s everybody’s (read: my) favorite vegetable, broccoli!  Now, hear me out – I know throwing a bag of frozen broccoli in the microwave sounds pathetically simple, even for me.  To that I say: 1. If you ever call me pathetic again, I will rain meteors upon your village until not even a cockroach remains, and 2. There are ways to improve even the simply delicious steamed flavor.  For example, I like to dump the frozen broccoli in a pot with a can of chicken or beef broth and let it heat on the stovetop.  This lets the broth soak into the broccoli and compliments whatever your main dish may be.

Now, as for my new cooking adventure – I love alfredo.  I mean, as much as I am capable of the feeble human emotion of “love.”  So after having some early success with following recipes for alfredo sauce, I am going to attempt to create my own take on it this weekend.  It may be delicious.  Or it may kill someone.  It should come as no surprise that I am satisfied with either outcome.

Until next time, kids, remember – you know what, I don’t even need to do the clever Trump remark thing, do I?  I mean, look at him.  Just look.  Look at that shit.  Really?  Do I need to pile on that?  It’s beneath me. – EWE

4 thoughts on “#FrozenFoodFridays – Healthy Edition”

  1. I actually love the broccoli bags, as sad as it sounds; I put them in with mac and cheese so it will at least have some redeeming nutritional value. I love alfredo, too; hope yours turns out well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

