The Versatile Blogger Award

Another award nomination?!  Aww…you kids are too kind!  Seriously…you’re really too kind, you should get that checked or something, it never turns out well.  That said, many thanks to ToreishiNoblesse of toreishigames for the nomination and the kind words.  If you like my ramblings, you will love Tor’s – a kindred blogging soul to my own (if I had a soul) with far less nihilism.  Thank you kindly, my friend!

Rules:
1) Display Award
2) Thank the person who gave this award (and include a link to their blog)
3) Share seven things about yourself
4) Nominate ten bloggers

Wait, seven things about myself?  Shit – this might be more introspection than I’ve done in centuries.  Well, you’ve been warned – you may never be able to unsee/unhear the horrific atrocities that are about to be unleashed…

1) I’m chronically early to everything.  It’s a fucking compulsion – if I’m not running 30 minutes ahead of schedule, I start to lose my shit.  It stems from being a kid and my mom being my only mode of transport.  She is an amazing woman, single mom, ran a day care in our home and somehow raised three children despite being very poor – but the consequence of always being busy meant that we were inevitably late to everything, and I hated that feeling.  By the time I was in high school, I would lie about when I needed to be places on the order of a couple of hours just to make sure I would get there on time.  Once I could drive myself places, I swore I’d always be early before I’d be late.

2) I’m terrible at taking my own advice.  I majored in psychology as an undergrad, and both before and in the years after, I’ve always had a talent for reading people and helping them deal with issues that they face.  That said, I am completely goddamn incapable of taking my own advice, no matter how sound it is when I offer it to others.  I’ll even recognize this fact as I am dispensing said advice to someone, and still will manage to not follow it.

3) I love amusement parks.  Like, Cedar Point is some form of heaven on earth for me.  Roller coasters, haunted houses, fair food – I love every bit of amusement parks and have ever since I was a young evil mageling.

4) I have trust issues.  This is probably fairly obvious to anyone that has followed this blog to this point, but they aren’t exactly what you may think, and they are fairly well-founded.  As a child, I was subjected to severe, prolonged, and horrific abuse – I will spare the details, but I look back now and realize I should by all rights have become a statistic and I don’t know how I didn’t.  Even into adulthood, it seemed that the people that I would come to trust the most and leave myself vulnerable to would use that trust to hurt me.  But my issue isn’t that now I can’t trust – it is that even when I do place my trust in someone now, I do so with the sad, inevitable feeling that it will sooner or later be betrayed.  It is far from pleasant, and I would like nothing more than for it to be proven wrong one day.

5) I’m an insomniac.  I’ve never been particularly good at falling or staying asleep my entire life, but since being diagnosed with fibromyalgia, the pain has made sleep even more difficult, and the collapse of my engagement some time back shredded my mental and emotional world for quite a while.  Fortunately, after spending some time using various aids to help combat this, I’ve recently begun to return to something approaching a healthy sleep cycle – but I still have a long way to go.

6) I am terrible at admitting defeat.  Whether it is in a court case, an MMA fight, a cooking endeavor – you name it, and I have to be good at it.  I recognize that it isn’t realistic or even particularly healthy – but see no. 2 above.

7) I love blogging.  Seems almost silly, right?  But it’s a new thing for me.  I had never considered an undertaking like this before, but then I needed a place to open up when I was at my lowest point, and so now here we are, and I have loved every moment of it.  I have no particular expectations – while I would love for my thoughts to become a massive success that amuse and inform and incense people all over the world, I am also content that I have found any audience at all that finds value in what I have to say, and how I say it.  It is honestly one of the most humbling experiences I’ve ever had.

Now, for ten people far better at this than I am (apologies if you’ve already been tagged before; it just means you’re extra-super-special!):

Mari Lyn at Mari Lyn Holistic (I’ve known this beautiful, artistic, talented, and compassionate woman for many years – she’s absolutely amazing!)

The Rage Mage at The Well-Red Mage (Your review of Jaws for NES made me laugh, cry, and suffer horrific flashbacks all at the same time.)

Lightning Night Nova at Conquering the Gaming Backlog (Her approach to gaming seems so in tune with mine, it’s like she’s a palette-swapped sprite of me!)

Mei-Mei at Jedi by Knight (Who in addition to being an awesome blogger, also lives in NE Ohio – making her geographically superior as well!)

Spoon You Fork Me at The Dining Diaries (I want to eat all the things.  Seriously, all of them.)

Mr. Panda at Mr. Panda’s Video Game Reviews (In-depth reviews that I can only aspire to emulate.)

Hammy at Hammy Reviews (Fantastic, polished reviews across a wide range of media.)

The Otaku Judge at The Otaku Judge (A rightfully self-described, and quite accomplished, geek critic after my own, uh, what do you humans call it…oh, right, heart!)

Vahrkalla at Vahrkalla’s Video Games (You have to appreciate snark this skillfully woven into intelligent prose!)

The Well-Red Mage at The Well-Red Mage (The first to make me feel welcomed to the blogging community, and also one of the most entertaining writers in said community!)

If you aren’t listed above, it doesn’t mean I hate you – well, I mean, I AM a condensed mass of hatred, but it doesn’t mean that I didn’t list you out of hatred.  I actually am rather fond of many, many people and blogs in our little corner of the Interweb – and I humbly thank you all for allowing me to join it. – EWE

13 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award”

    1. Many thanks! It still gives me wide-eyed surprise the way I have found support in the blogging community, and the larger Internet community in general. As someone who has always been something of a loner, it has really been touching and meant a lot to me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination! 🙂 I haven’t used ‘snarky’ yet as a self-referential descriptor, might nab that one 😉 I’d just like to say of your 4th fact that I hope something occurs in your life which goes to change your perspective. What we choose to immediately see in people can alter our wellbeing drastically (not saying that you need this or anything, just speaking from experience!)

    I’ll get on it right away after a Firewatch/Turing Test post 🙂

    Nota Bene- your numbers are far better than mine were for my first 3 months on WP! It’s lookin goooood

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are most welcome for the nomination, and thank you for the advice 🙂 I approach everything with that same hope – I am hopeful that I will be proven wrong in my apprehensions. I suppose the good news is that I still find myself trusting some people!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I was thinking about going with “my favorite color is green” but then I just decided the hell with it – you all get the whole mess that is me hahaha!
      Shhh! Don’t mention the Indians – I’m paranoid the universe is going to remember that this is Cleveland before we can win two titles in one year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your award! Thank you for sharing as well. I can’t imagine the life you must have had, but I sincerely hope that things are better now. I think some of your tidbits seem like great things, like being early. I wish I could do that! And I’ve never been to Cedar Point, but I’ve heard of it. It sounds like an awesome amusement park. Also glad you enjoy blogging! Keep up the great work!

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I’m so honored by your kind words! I will certainly thank you again and mention you in a future post for the award. Thanks again and congrats!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! Believe it or not, I have no complaints – the life I’ve had has made me who I am today, and I’m happy with that. It doesn’t change what I’ve been through, but it gives me an appreciation for the struggles people endure.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on your award! Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂 I also secretly enjoy burning down villages, but don’t tell anyone…

    If I could do it all over again, I would have taken Psychology instead of Electronics. I would have loved to become a professional psychiatrist and help people overcome their issues. I give advice to people all the time, and never follow it myself so I know exactly what you mean, lol

    Sorry to hear about your bad past experiences. I view trust as a fragile thing that people around me need to earn. If they ever break it, it’s never coming back. Blogging is a great way to express things, and I find it’s also a great stress reliever. I’m grateful to have met so many awesome people on WordPress.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for the kind words! My experiences have made me who I am, good and bad – so I suppose I wouldn’t change them! Blogging has been so very helpful to me when I needed it most – I am so grateful for the support that I have received from the community!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

