#FrozenFoodFridays – Thanksgiving Edition

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving, minions!  The holiday is actually why I haven’t been as active this past week – this time of year there is just so much going on, and most of it is stressful and aggravating and makes me want to feed people to my dragon.  But since that’s “frowned upon” I will instead have to vent my irritation on all of you lucky boys and girls!

But before that – we can’t let Thanksgiving go by entirely without my personal recipe for an all-time holiday classic – yes, it’s time for EWE’s Probably-Won’t-Kill-You Pumpkin Pie!

And, of course, because I will be damned if I’m going to break from the theme of #FrozenFoodFridays, we will be using Marie Callender’s Frozen Pastry Pie Crust as a base.

frozen-pie-crust

Since we are talking about one of my personal favorite pies, I’m not going to mess around with optional ingredients – everything is required for this one, folks!  So if you decide you don’t need to follow my instructions, your pie may not turn out – and I might hunt you down and set you on fire.  You’ve been warned.

INGREDIENTS:

  1. 9″ Marie Callender’s Frozen Pastry Pie Crust
  2. 1 (15 oz) can pumpkin
  3. 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
  4. 2 large eggs
  5. 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  6. 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  7. 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  8. 1/2 teaspoon ground salt
  9. 1/4 teaspoon ground pumpkin pie spice
  10. 1/4 teaspoon ground clove
  11. Whipped cream (your own, store bought, whatever)

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

In a medium-large bowl, whisk the pumpkin, condensed milk, eggs, and spices until the mixture is smooth.  Pour the mixture into the still-frozen pie crust.  Place in the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

Now reduce the heat to 350 degrees.  Continue baking for ~45 minutes, or until a knife can be inserted 1″ from the crust and comes out clean when removed.  Remove and allow to cool for several hours until room temperature.  Once room temperature, keep in refrigerator unless being served immediately.  Before serving, garnish with whipped cream.

See?  Now that wasn’t so hard, was it?  I just made a few of these the other day, and if I do say so myself, they turned out quite well.  I mean, there was one person who decided upon looking at it that it hadn’t been cooked enough and threw it out.  But I’m pretty sure that person just hates me.  Which, in fairness, is not that uncommon.  Besides – a whole bunch of other people ate it, and to the best of my knowledge, they aren’t dead yet.  So we are going to call it a success!

So that’s all for #FrozenFoodFridays this week, kiddos!  I promise to try and come around more this coming week – and I haven’t forgotten the request I received for a chicken recipe, so I will be seeing what I can do!  And I’ve also completed a couple of books and some games as well, so look for my thoughts on those too.  And, of course, ranting.  Lots and lots of ranting. – EWE

4 thoughts on “#FrozenFoodFridays – Thanksgiving Edition”

Leave a Reply

