How EWE was Broken on #FrozenFoodFridays

Greets – ouch! – humans.  As I’m sure you can tell, it isn’t Friday.  But it isn’t that I forgot about #FrozenFoodFridays – believe me, I’d much, MUCH rather have been communing with all of you than having the day I had.

You see, last Tuesday I awoke to find that something was wrong with my right shoulder.  Specifically, I couldn’t use my right arm without a stabbing pain in my right shoulderblade.  This concerned me, as I am familiar with back injuries – I have a partially herniated disk in my lower lumbar from many years ago that would still flair up on me from time to time.  So I decided to take no chances and be very careful with my right arm and shoulder until the pain subsided or I could get in to see a doctor (shout out to my favorite prosecutor for being kind enough to rub the knot out of my shoulder when I couldn’t reach it).  Sadly, on Friday, I made the mistake of reaching across my body to lift something off of the floor with my left hand, and as I lifted, I heard/felt a dull pop in my lower back followed by excruciating pain.

As it turns out, the disk in my lower back had herniated again, directly into my sciatic nerve, and the muscles surrounding it were all spasming out of control and wouldn’t allow it to pull back in.  This made the rest of my day in court rather…unpleasant.  By the time I was done, I didn’t even know if I would be able to drive home, so it became clear that a trip to Statcare was in order.  Unfortunately, that would consume several more hours of my evening.  Once the doctor there confirmed what I already knew had happened, he prescribed anti-inflammatory, muscle relaxer, and painkiller to try and see if the disk would slide back into place once the muscles relaxed.  If it doesn’t, then my doctor will have to order an MRI to see what else can be done.  Once I came home and took the medication, it essentially rendered me unconscious for the rest of the night and most of Saturday as well.  Hence, #FrozenFoodFridays came and went without an update.  But never fear – my injury and the excruciating pain have given me the perfect thing to remind you to take out of your freezer!

grey-goose-bottle
It’s true – many people keep this in the freezer.

Ah, yes – vodka.  Grey Goose is my preferred label, but there are a lot of good choices out there for you.  Of course, you can keep vodka at room temperature, but I prefer to keep it chilled in the freezer as most of my favorite ways to enjoy it involve ice or cold mixers anyway, such as vodka cranberry juice, or grape vodka soda.  So since this is kept in the freezer, I’m counting it as meeting the completely arbitrary, self-created criteria of #FrozenFoodFridays.  Enjoy!

Now, as bad as the back injury was a buzzkill on Friday, it wasn’t the only even that day that seemed aimed directly at pissing me off.  I mean, it’s bad enough that there are far more senseless idiots voting in America than even I had accounted for, but during his inauguration speech, Orange Boy decided to plagiarize a character from one of the greatest comic book movies of all time?!

trump-bane
You have my permission to die now…actually, you’ve had it and will continue to have it.

Yes, our new president decided to rip off Bane in this speech.  I guess he figured since Bane is a fictional character, plagiarizing him was acceptable.  So, yeah, all in all it was a tremendously shitty Friday.  He also had his press secretary scream into a camera two days later that the media was just trying to fool us with their “facts” and “evidence” that this inauguration was far smaller than that of President Obama, blatantly lying and making false statements WHICH TRUMP’S ADVISER LATER CALLED “ALTERNATIVE FACTS.”  Children, listen carefully, there are no such things as “alternative facts.”  When something is not a “fact” that makes it a “falsehood” or more commonly known as “lies” or “complete bullshit.”  – EWE

8 thoughts on “How EWE was Broken on #FrozenFoodFridays”

  1. Ow!! That sounds incredibly painful. I hope you fully recover from that soon. I also hope your injury doesn’t impact your ability to do your essential job. My view of the pristine countryside is so much better with those ugly human villages in ashes. 🙂

    Thanks for another great #FrozenFoodFriday item! Chilled vodka goes well with all the damn chaos unfolding in this messed up world lately…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not to add more to your pain (but possibly giving you a reason to down that Grey Goose) now there’s a bill introduced to sever our ties to the UN. Things like this tell me I should’ve summoned that meteor when I had the chance. I, too, am floating in a bit of a drug induced haze. I’m debating on whether to invite alcohol to this party. Ah, wait, I have a joke. If and (god willing) WHEN Agent Orange is impeached, I plan on making peach mojitos, because im-peach-mint? That pun is not nearly as bad as this situation, but peach mojitos sound delicious, and that I won’t apologize for!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am somewhat, thanks! The meds appear to have stopped the muscles from spawning and the disk isn’t jammed directly into the nerve now. Still have to follow up with the doc on the 30th to make sure I don’t need any further treatment. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

